Posted in Uncategorized

Week 4 – Asian Style Salmon with Noodle Broth

A lot of the time when I’m looking for a new recipe it depends on the ingredients I have in my fridge/freezer. We tend to eat a lot of Salmon but its hard to thing of new and interesting things to do with this. In my recipe book trawls of week 4 I found a recipe in Jamie Oliver’s 30 Minute Menu’s for Asian Salmon and Noodle Broth. 
It sounded delicious and broth isn’t something we have in our house very often so I thought I’d give it a whirl. The recipe is quite long but really easy to follow – and there is a copy of it on this website 
It was really easy to cook although it did take me a lot longer than 30 minutes. I think its because I’m pretty disorganised in the kitchen and really can’t be bothered to weigh everything out first and then chop it. I also like the cooking process and don’t like being so clinical in my approach – I suspect this is why I’ll never be a chef. 
Here is a picture of what it might have looked like if I’d taken a picture of it – however I have had to borrow this from the internet – these days will soon be over though! 
The meal was delicious – the salmon was so flavoursome and the broth was really fresh. I’m trying to avoid wheat a bit at the minute so made it with rice noodles rather than the usual noodles and it was just as good. 
In the book Mr Oliver serves this with a beansprout salad which I didn’t make and we were more than satisfied with the salmon and broth. 
Mr Gem really enjoyed this – I think its because the skin on the salmon was really really crispy and he is partial to a bit of crispy skin. 
Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

5 thoughts on “Week 4 – Asian Style Salmon with Noodle Broth

Leave a Reply

