Posted in fish pie

Week 11 – Plain and Simple Fish Pie

Not so much of a bumper edition this week with only one recipe to report on but due to an incredibly hectic week there was only one night when both Mr Gem and I were in and that was on Monday! I did toy with the idea of cooking something new on Saturday but to be completely honest I really fancied a curry so I made an old favourite instead – it was good but not new so I’ll have to keep that to myself I’m afraid. Maybe next years resolution will be to keep a log of all my favourite recipes…who knows?!
I was watching one of the last Something for the Weekend episodes the other week and they made an Asian fish pie and it got me thinking… “what’s wrong with a traditional lovely fish pie?” I do love Asian food, its probably one of my favourite things to eat, but sometimes I think TV chefs must feel the pressure of having to come up with something fresh and exciting every week when really I just fancied good old tradition for a change. 
So my Fish Pie – I found this in a recipe book I bought from a charity shop about 2 years ago, the recipe book went on the shelf and stayed there untouched until last Monday when I was looking for a quick and tasty fish pie recipe. The book is called: Fish and Seafood and was originally from Marks and Spencers and you could pick up a copy from amazon and its actually cheaper on amazon than I paid in the charity shop! 
Anyway – a similar fish pie recipe can be found here except mine didn’t contain eggs (as I didn’t have any) and I also added some peas and sweetcorn to the sauce for a bit of texture. The recipe I was working to also recommended that you poach the salmon in brandy which sounded delicious but again I didn’t have any to hand so I just poached all the fish in milk and I didn’t feel as if I was missing anything.
It was delicious – fish pie is one of those dishes that I always fancy but never cook but it was everything I wanted in a pie; warming and creamy with the different flavours of fish and just a bit of cheese flavour. Surprisingly the recipe was very generous, the original recipe was for four people so I halved it and it still made three good portions. 
I think if I was to make it again I would definitely add the eggs and try the brandy trick which would add a lovely depth of flavour to the sauce but for a quick Monday night tea it was a winner for me. 
Mr Gem didn’t say much about this one as he was dashing out the door to football – however he requested first dibs on the leftovers the next night so it must have been pretty good.
Because I think it could be improved on I’d give this one a 7 out of 10. 
So as promised a rather shorter edition this week but I’ve already got a roast chicken dinner and coffee and walnut cake lined up for week 12 (I was so excited about the chicken last night I forgot to take a picture so you’ll just have to imagine how amazing it looked!) 
Also – I picked up a butternut squash in the supermarket yesterday that I’ll need to do something with – any recommendations would be much appreciated!

Happy cooking!

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

Leave a Reply

