Posted in comfort food, cooking, filling food, Food

Week 14: Roast Beef and Yorkshire Pudding

Hello and welcome to my incredibly late week 14 post. All I can say is the easter weekend completely threw me out of sync and I didn’t get to do any cooking! I did manage quite a lot of drinking though, so it’s probably for the best that the only time I spent in the kitchen this weekend was to get another glass of wine from the fridge. It’s no wonder I was too tired and emotional to post on Monday!

So, because of the Easter weekend I have only managed to rustle up a measly one dish to blog about this week (apart from an ill-advised roasted vegetable strudel that made me feel quite unwell so I won’t be recommending that!) but what a dish it was!

Roast Beef with Yorkshire Pudding

I know its pretty unbelievable that for two weeks in a row I have made a roast dinner as my new dish of the week. But its true, I’m not a big roaster! I have made roast beef before but I attempted Yorkshire puddings from scratch! For something as traditional as yorkshire puddings I went straight for Delia’s How to Cook book, you don’t want to do anything fancy with a Yorkshire pud.

But before we get to the yorkshire puddings I need to talk about the beef. It was delicious!

I’m not very confident with cooking roasts, purely because I never really cook them, so I browsed a few of my cook books to find a recipe and eventually settled on the instructions from my Good Housekeeping book. I rolled the beef joint in a mixture of flour, salt and pepper and mustard powder to give it a bit of a flavoured crust and placed it in a roasting dish with a bit of olive oil and an onion for the gravy.  The beef went in the oven for 15 minutes on a high heat, then I turned it down and cooked it  20 minutes per pound and an extra 15 minutes at the end. It came out tender and pink in the middle and after a 20 minutes rest it sliced beautifully – I reckon my dad would be proud of that joint of meat when it came out of the oven!

Veggie wise I boiled sweet potatoes and mashed them, par boiled carrots and then roasted in honey and finally I steamed broccoli and cauliflower and served them with a cheese sauce – I love cauliflower cheese normally, but for some reason my cheese didn’t melt into the white sauce and it was a bit lumpy but tasty!

And finally the Yorkshire’s…I will definitely make them again! In the past I have used an oven ready brand such as Aunt Bessie’s, but honestly, mine were much better and nearly as easy to make as the Aunt Bessie’s versions! I mixed the batter (flour, milk, egg, baking powder), and heated sunflower oil in a pudding tray in the oven until it was really hot, once the oil was smoking I ladled the batter into the oil and put it straight back in the oven for about 20 minutes – in hindsight I could have left them in a little longer but everything else was ready so they were a little pale. Little aside here to add that I have literally never been so excited to see them rising, I was like a little girl watching my first cake in the oven and it was so worth it, I think that out of all the things I’ve made this year, yorkshire puddings could be the most satisfying thing I’ve made so far!

Mr Gem was incredibly impressed with me for making my own puddings, I may have made a rod for my own back here – no more short cuts for me on my roast dinners!

I enjoyed it so much I thought I’d post a second photo of it with gravy!

So a slightly shorter post this week but hopefully no less enjoyable!

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

11 thoughts on “Week 14: Roast Beef and Yorkshire Pudding

  1. yummmmmmm!!!!!

    I have a recipe for yorkshire pudding in one of my cookbooks and I’ve been considering giving it a try, I haven’t had any in years. Your post just convinced me! I’ll be making some soon 🙂

  2. Wow!! Everything looks amazing! I have only tried doing yorkshire puddings once, years ago, and I don’t remember being overwhelmed by the way they turned out. Might have to give them another go!

Leave a Reply

