Posted in cooking

Week 17 – Chocolate Orange Cheesecake

So another light week in terms of scouting out new recipes I’m afraid, in my defence I’m pretty busy at the moment and the ease of a tried and tested recipe is far too tempting. I must try harder (although its halfway through week 18 and I haven’t done anything new yet…!) But I did make an AMAZING cheesecake.

On Friday we had a couple of friends over for dinner. I always think its a bit risky to make something completely new for a dinner party so I stuck to what I knew for the starter (Chicken Satay) and the main course (Salmon Broth – which you can read about here) but I thought I’d try something new for the pudding.

The recipe for the chocolate orange cheesecake came from my good housekeeping bakes and cakes book (most of my sweet recipes come from there – I’m not sure how I coped without it before!) I’ve had a look online and haven’t found anything similar but all of the recipes I’ve seen look amazing – so try this one for a start.

The chocolate section of the cheesecake was in the base – which I made…From Scratch. I whizzed up flour, butter, sugar and coco powder in the food processor until it became the consistency of bread crumbs – this in itself is no mean feat when your food processor was £15 from morrisons and it gives up far too easily but we got there in the end and my base was mixed. Then I added some melted butter and hand mixed with a wooden spoon until the mixture began to bind together. The base was then spread over a lined cheesecake tin and baked in the oven for 30 minutes.

Whilst the base was baking I made my mix – the recipe said to let the base cool before making the cheese mixture but frankly at 8pm on a Thursday evening there is no time for such luxuries as a cooled base. So into the cheese mix went a tub of marscapone, 2 and a half tubs of cream cheese, eggs, sugar, corn flour and a vanilla pod (my new favourite ingredient by the way – they smell divine!) – this was all mixed in a bowl that was possibly too small but just about did the job. Then I poured the mix onto the still warm base and baked in the oven for about 1 1/2 hours until it was a bit wobbly in the middle.

Once it was cooked, I switched the oven off and left the cheesecake in the oven to cool with the door slightly open until the oven had cooled enough so that the cake wouldn’t cook any further. Then I left it to cool overnight still in the oven.

It was a beast. The biggest, thickest cheesecake I have ever clapped eyes on. The base was possibly too thick but I think this was due to the diameter of my tin being too small but it was amazing. To finish it I grated some really dark chocolate onto it.

It tasted amazing, and actually apparently is an excellent hangover cure because a slab of that the next day had me on the road to recovery after a lot of hours dying on the sofa!

The photo doesn’t really do the cake justice as I was reasonably tipsy when I came to take it, but it was lovely. As puddings go I’d say a 9 out of 10 – but then I’m biased as I love a cheesecake!

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

5 thoughts on “Week 17 – Chocolate Orange Cheesecake

  1. this looks so good!!!!! I”m also having some serious cookbook envy from the parts of your cookbook collection I can see in the background 🙂 great post!

Leave a Reply

