Posted in aubergine, cooking

Week 18: Lamb Chops with Ratatouille and Chocolate Souffle

Oh dear. Oh dear. I am a terrible blogger. I miss a week, then I miss two, then three and before you know it I can’t even remember what I’ve cooked. Bad Gem…must try harder.

So, embarrassingly I’m writing this from so long ago I can’t even remember what I cooked, luckily though I have my trusty photo’s and Mr Gem to help me through this marathon blogging session. Its like leaving all your homework til 8pm on a Sunday, you know its going to make Sunday evening hell, but you just can’t help but put things off.

So in Week 18 we picked up some Lamb Chops in the supermarket. I never know what to do with chops, for me there isn’t enough meat on them and too much fat, but this blog is all about trying new things so I decided to give them a whirl. I’m not really a fan of meat and two veg so I always look for alternatives, I had some courgettes and aubergines and feta so thought that it would be nice to simply grill the lamb chops and serve them with a Greek style ratatouille – by which I mean I found a recipe for Ratatouille, added some oregano and lemon juice and topped it with feta.

To make this slightly thrown together, but healthy and really quite tasty dish I rubbed the lamb chops with oil, seasoned with salt, pepper, lemon juice and oregano and popped them under the grill for about 15 minutes, if my memory serves me rightly this cooked the chops medium, nicely pink in the middle but without the blood. I’m sure other foodie bloggers out there would disagree with me but I can’t think of anything less appetizing than a hunk of meat sitting in a bloody gravy, so I cook my meat medium.

The Ratatouille of course came from Delia (where else?!) and the recipe can be found here – as I mentioned above I added some oregano and lemon juice to give it that greek twist.

I served the lamb and ratatouille sprinkled with feta cheese – Mr Gem also had a helping of cous cous but I stuck with the meat and sauce.

My verdict for this dish would be a 6.5 out of 10 – not the most glamorous of dinners but perfectly serviceable for a healthy midweek dinner that tastes good with minimal effort. Mr Gem loves anything that has lamb and/or aubergine in it so was quite happy.

My other recipe for the week was less successful unfortunately. I’ve been fancying chocolate souffle for some time, found a recipe and decided to give it a whirl. The recipe was from Delia again, but I wouldn’t recommend it. The recipe is here, it calls for 75% dark chocolate, eggs, rum, double cream and butter – but because you use such dark chocolate there was no sweetness to the souffles. I mixed all the ingredients as the recipe instructed, popped it in the oven and Bob’s your uncle. They rose perfectly but to be honest they were dry, bitter and not something I’d every make again. However, I do want to achieve the perfect souffle so I’ll be on the look out for new recipes! Any recommendations welcomed.

Ok, so now I have to go and write Week 19, 20, 21 and 22…might do a bit of a combo – it’s not cheating as long as I’ve made the food – which I have!

 

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

One thought on “Week 18: Lamb Chops with Ratatouille and Chocolate Souffle

Leave a Reply

