Posted in cooking, Food, Jamie Oliver

Week 19 & 20 Piri Piri Chicken and Ginger, Chilli and Soy Steamed Cod

So I’m working hard at getting back up to date with this little blog so I’m going to pair together week 19 and 20 in the interests of keeping a log of what I’ve been cooking. I’ve also just noticed that I’ve been given an award by a lovely follower which I need to pass on so I think I’m going to do week 19 & 20 tonight then 21 and the award blog tomorrow then we’re all up to date!

Week 19 – Piri Piri Chicken

On Week 19 I decided that I wanted to make something with chicken. I know a lot of people don’t really like chicken particularly chicken breast and find it quite boring, but I do. In fact I like chicken breast more that I do the leg or thigh meat – I really dislike meat on the bone. It drives Mr Gem potty but I just can’t have it. So in order to keep Mr Gem happy with the ‘bland’ cuts of meat I try to find really flavoursome recipes to use. And in Week 19 I did.

Jamie Oliver’s 30 Minute Menus has some really tasty recipes in there (they never take 30 minutes but hey a good dinner is a good dinner!) and its in this book where I found the recipe for Piri Piri Chicken – and happily its available online so I don’t have to type it out. The only change to the recipe was that I used strips of chicken breast rather than thigh meat. The meal was really simple to make, the ease of whizzing up raw ingredients for the sauce in the blender and pouring it over chargrilled peppers and chicken breast was amazing. The simply whack it in the oven for about 15 – 20 minutes until sizzling through. Delicious! I served this with a little rice and a lot of salad.

This is the sort of food that you would make if you were having friends over on a Friday night, tasty enough to impress them but not so difficult that you need to spend more than an hour preparing. I’d definitely make this again, although it was a tad spicy for my taste, I think next time I’d reduce the amount of chilli I added to the sauce, I love a bit of spice but if it starts taking away from the flavour of the dish then I think it’s too much, but aside from that I’d recommend this recipe to anyone!

Week 20 – Ginger, Chilli and Soy-Steamed Cod

I’m a massive fan of asian food, and I’m really enjoying learning to cook this way – however I have a real lack of equipment, aside from a wok, so when I came across this recipe I almost passed it by since I don’t have a bamboo steamer but I really fancied it so came up with what I thought was an ingenious way of steaming my fish, but we’ll get to that later. I chopped all the ingredients and mixed the sauce, coated the cod in the sauce and left it to marinade for a while whilst I prepared all my vegetables for the stir fry (I’m going through a bit of a healthy phase and not really eating too many carbs so I’m trying lots of different accompaniments to meat and fish, this week was stir fried green veg, Mr Gem got a bonus portion of rice (I can’t make him suffer for my waistline!)

Now to the steaming, I have two woks – so in the cheaper wok I poured boiling water, placed a metal pan stand in the water and then stood a casserole dish on the pan stand. Then I added the fish to the casserole dish and put the other wok upside down over the bottom wok, forming a seal and therefore creating the perfect steamer for my cod. It took a little longer than I’d thought it would but the fish was so soft and flavoursome it was worth the wait.

So that concludes my epic posting session for the evening. I will be back tomorrow evening for a final catch up and then hopefully I will have learned my lesson!

Happy cooking!

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

4 thoughts on “Week 19 & 20 Piri Piri Chicken and Ginger, Chilli and Soy Steamed Cod

  1. The chicken looks lovely, might have to try that one! If you have a metal colander that would make a good makeshift steamer too, just pop a plate on top x

Leave a Reply

