Posted in cooking

Week 24 – Fishcakes with Scallop and Chorizo Salad

So – Mr Gem was heading out on a stag do for the weekend and I wanted to make him a really nice meal to send him off – in the knowledge that he will probably be living off burgers and beer for the weekend.

I’ve always wanted to cook scallops but for some reason never tried them – I think its because you can so easily overcook them and they end up like rubber bullets. But I wanted to make fishcakes and salad so thought – why not?

Image

The fishcakes were a bit interesting. Instead of using potato to bind the cakes the recipe said to use rice. So I boiled some white rice whilst I cooked a salmon fillet. Mixed garlic, ginger, chilli and a bit of soy and lime juice. When the rice was cooked I mixed it with the fish, rice and garlic ginger mixture. the starch in the rice bound it all together really well. I made this into fishcakes and popped it in the oven for about 20 minutes – after my last deep frying fiasco I wasn’t taking any chance…check out week 21 and 22 if you want to read more about that little disaster!

The fishcakes came out really well – crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. Just the right amount of flavouring as well. I was pretty happy with them.

The recipe also had a bit for chilli jam which I was all over. Mr Gem just LOVES chutney. He literally goes to food fairs and buys jars of chutney. I grated lime zest and squeezed the juice into sugar, and chilli, then popped it on a low heat until it started to bubble – the sugar goes a bit brown after a while and at that point you take it off the heat.The jam was citrusy and spicy – and luckily Mr Gem liked it (phew!)

For the salad I chopped up some chorizo, spring onion and chilli and fried it until the juice ran out of the chorizo. Then I added the scallops and turned up the heat. Turning the scallops every minute or so until they are springy and just slightly firm to a touch with a finger.

Then I served it all up together – it was an amazing tea – especially for a Thursday night, I didn’t poison anyone with the scallops and it was just a real treat. I’d recommend the salad to anyone!

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

Leave a Reply

