Posted in cooking

Week 4: Kefta with Onion Salad

I actually can’t believe its week 4 already! January is on the way out taking the snow with it hopefully – as pretty as it is its caused me no end of problems this week. However it did not stop me from attempting another new dish. At this point I must point out that Kitchen Gems is not sponsored by Mr Jamie Oliver or Mr Nigel Slater – it just so happens that the majority of the cookery books I buy / am bought are from them. I am on the look out for some new ones – and maybe some old ones so watch this space, I might treat myself in February.

So with it being the end of January I decided to try to be a bit frugal and cook using the ingredients I had in the fridge…or at least not having to buy a full ingredients list. A quick browse around and I unearthed some mince, onions, salad and spices – not a bad start but not great. So I hit the books and found a recipe which only needed me to buy pitta or flat bread. So here it is!

Little Kefta with Onion Salad

IMG_3083

The recipe doesn’t appear to be available online so in summary the ingredients are:

For the Kefta:

minced beef, finally chopped red onion, cumin, ground coriander, paprika, and ginger. To make the meatballs all you do is mix all of the ingredients together and divide into small meatballs then leave in the fridge to rest for 30 minutes or so.

For the onion salad

red onion finely sliced, a handful of cherry tomatoes cut in half, lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper. Simply mix all of the ingredients together and leave to rest until serving.

Once the meatballs have rested you just need to heat a griddle pan until its hot, add a touch of olive oil and pop the meatballs in for around 10 minutes until they are cooked through. Then serve in pitta breads with greek yoghurt, the onion salad and a green salad if you wish.

This is an absolutely delicious easy dish to make, I think it would be perfect for nibbles with friends. In fact you could pair this with the Moroccan chicken skewers I blogged about in week 1 and have a lovely feast for an evening in!

IMG_3085

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

2 thoughts on “Week 4: Kefta with Onion Salad

Leave a Reply

