Posted in cooking, Food

Week 5 – Vietnamese Noodle Soup

So I’m posting this a few days later than usual but its been a hectic week this week. Hectic in a good way though, I feel a bit like I’m rejoining the land of the living finally, catching up with friends and getting back into a normal routine. The end of last year was so busy, what with moving house then suddenly it was Christmas and then January always takes a bit of getting used to. So I’m feeling all refreshed and revitalised again.

I went to the library last weekend looking for some inspiration (read new cookery books to try out) and found a slightly dog-eared copy of Nigella Lawson’s Kitchen. I read it from cover to cover when I got home and, although there are some ridiculously simple recipes in it, there were some dishes that I couldn’t wait to try. So I did…

Vietnamese Noodle Soup:

Image

I love an ingredients list that isn’t a mile long – especially when the end result is packed with flavour – the recipe for this soup was relatively short, mostly made up of store cupboard ingredients and I could get everything I didn’t have in stock from a normal supermarket – so before I’d even done the shopping I was happy I’d chosen to make this recipe. You can find a version of the recipe here

Image

It was so easy to make – most of the recipes in this book are actually. Start by marinating the pork for about 15 minutes in lime juice, paprika, fish sauce and soy sauce. Whilst the pork is marinating chop the spring onions and pak choi. Fry the spring onions in some garlic oil, add the ginger and fry for a couple of minutes then add the marinated pork and the stock, bring to the boil and simmer for 10 minutes then add the beansprouts and pak choi. Finally add the cooked noodles and simmer for a couple of minutes and then serve with chopped chilli’s scattered on the top.

I tasted the soup about half way through the cooking and added about a tablespoon of Chinese Five Spice to give it a bit more flavour but otherwise I just stuck to the recipe as it was.

To say that it wasn’t a ridiculous recipe the soup was light and flavoursome (but not that easy to eat with chopsticks) Mr Gem really enjoyed this dish and it is definitely something I’d make again. Image

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

4 thoughts on “Week 5 – Vietnamese Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

