Posted in cooking

Eating Seasonal

I’m not sure how is happened but recently I’ve developed a conscience. I’m all about trying to buy local – which is INCREDIBLY difficult – my latest shopping spree found only two UK products – mushrooms and onions. Ridiculous – I’m thinking I will have to start going to farmers markets. So trying to shop local is making me try to understand seasonal produce – obviously in the supermarkets you can buy whatever you want whenever you want it – the only problem is you end up buying tomatoes from morocco and strawberries from Thailand, sometimes it boggles my mind that this is the way of the world!

Anyway – I happened across a website that I suspect I’ll be visiting regularly – it’s The Good Fish Guide page which aims to help consumers buy fish from responsible sources by highlighting what fish is in season. Currently its mussels so I’m going to make a mussel dish for my dish of the week this week…assuming I can get hold of any mussels!

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

2 thoughts on “Eating Seasonal

Leave a Reply

