Posted in cooking

Week 12: Sichaun Beef with Orange Salad

Okay, so confession time – I don’t have a week 13 dish to write about this week, but there is a good reason for this – Mr Gem turned 30 last week and we went away for a few days, followed by a wedding and Easter Sunday, so in all honestly I wasn’t in enough to cook. So I’m taking the Mother’s Day lunch as a spare dish…and I’ll try and make two dishes for Week 14! I don’t know why I’m trying to justify it really!

But I do have a fab recipe to bring for Week 12. I know I keep wittering on about this health kick Mr Gem and I are on but watching what we eat means that this challenge is a bit more difficult, because I never look at a salad recipe and think ‘Ooh that looks tasty, I definitely want to try that’ until week 12…

Sichaun Beef with Orange Salad

I don’t really like salads. I’ve tried so many variations of them and honestly the only salads I like are the ones which contain as many calories as a burger, and even then I’d rather have a burger. However this salad I like! It is from the BBC food website and is one of Ching He HuImageang’s recipes. I think the reason I was drawn to this was because of the asian flavours.

It couldn’t be easier or quicker to make, making it a perfect midweek tea!

Simply mix together the ingredients for the marinade and put the beef in the marinade for about 15 minutes. Once the beef has rested in the marinade, pop a pan on a high heat with a dash of olive oil until it starts to smoke a bit then add the beef to the pan.

While the beef is cooking chop the mushrooms, and prepare the salad.

Once the beef is cooked to your liking, remove it from the pan and set it to rest covered in tin foil, then add the mushrooms to the pan (I also added onions and peppers for a bit more flavour) with the rest of the marinade to cook through.

And that’s it – serve immediately with the salad and enjoy.

 

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

2 thoughts on “Week 12: Sichaun Beef with Orange Salad

  1. Looks great – the beef looks perfect and I like the idea of the oranges in it. Funnily enough I just posted about a salad and mentioned a burger in there – food blogger must all think alike 😉

Leave a Reply

