Posted in cooking

Week 14: Vanilla Panna Cotta

So… it’s been a while since I posted a blog, but I have been cooking, I don’t intend to miss any weeks recipes that I can possibly help, and as I already missed one I’ve been doing my best to keep up.
So in a bit of a change from my usual posting, this week I am excited to write about a a pudding! Despite having an exceptionally sweet tooth – I can eat an entire chocolate orange in about 10 minutes flat – I rarely make puddings. I think I lack the delicate touch required for puddings, however after trying my mum’s panna cotta on Easter Sunday I decided I wanted to have a go.

Vanilla Panna Cotta

Image

When I decided to make this I was amazed by how easy it is, in fact first of all I discounted the recipe on the BBC website as I thought it seemed to easy to be true, however it turns out that it simply is that easy – so I went with this recipe for Vanilla Panna Cotta

Essentially bring the milk, cream, sugar and vanilla to the boil on a low heat. Whilst that is coming to temparature soak the gelatin in cold water – incidentally this was my first experience of gelatine, I found it surprisingly easy to use.

Once the cream and sugar mixture has come to a simmer remove from the heat and add the gelatine, stir until the gelatine is disolved and then and this is the tricky part…you pour it into the panna cotta moulds and leave it to set.

And that is it!

Unless you want to make a sauce, which I did by simmering raspberries, sugar and water over a low heat.

Simple, delicious and looks a lot more difficult to make than it is!

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

2 thoughts on “Week 14: Vanilla Panna Cotta

Leave a Reply

