Posted in cooking, Food

Week 15: Butternut Squash Pasta Bake

So its been a busy couple of weeks at Kitchen Gems HQ – although now I come to think of it I can’t quite remember what I’ve been doing. However it’s no excuse and with the summer approaching I’d better become more strict with my regime. However I’m going to try to make it up by bashing out a couple of catch up blogs this evening. So I’ll start off with my butternut squash pasta bake!

Butternut Squash Pasta Bake

Plated up with extra bacon!
Plated up with extra bacon!

I am a creature of habit, it was one of the reasons I started this blog. Once I find a recipe I like I tend to keep it in my regular repertoire and sometimes I can be guilty of overkill. When I bought a butternut squash it was with the intention of cooking an old favourite – butternut squash risotto but thought I’d look for something new to mix it up a bit.

I came across the pasta bake recipe on the Woman and Home website – who rather handily have an article dedicated to the top 20 butternut squash recipes! Excellent.

As it was a midweek night I was happy to find an easy recipe which didn’t require much more from me than the usual battle of peeling and chopping a squash – if I didn’t like the flavour so much I honestly wouldn’t bother, it’s such an epic challenge to get into one!

First of all peel and chop the butternut squash into large chunks and peel and quarter the red onion(s). Pop the butternut squash in a roasting pan and drizzle with oil for 40 minutes, adding the onion halfway through. I didn’t use any sage as I didn’t have any but I’m told it goes very well with squash!

Whilst the veg is cooking cook and drain the pasta. Lift the veg out of the oven and mix with the pasta, pour the pasta and veg into an oven proof dish, top with breadcrumbs and Parmesan and pop in the oven for about 10 minutes. I served with salad and topped with crispy bacon. It was a delicious and easy to make so for me the perfect midweek dinner!

Looks delicious coming out of the oven!
Looks delicious coming out of the oven!

 

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

Leave a Reply

