Posted in cooking

Week 17 – Chicken Tikka Masala

I have a bit of catching up to do on the old blog! Although I haven’t been writing much, rest assured that I have been faithfully experimenting in the kitchen at least once a week pulling together some ace new tea’s to keep Mr Gem happy. So far I’m still really enjoying it.

So it’s a Sunday evening, Mr Gem and I have spent the entire weekend sorting out the garden, I’m aching from head to toe and the football is on downstairs. What better time to sneak upstairs with a very well deserved glass of wine to catch up on some blogging.

I can’t think of a better way to kick off than with the next recipe. I’ve been wanting to make a curry from scratch for ever – probably since the beginning of 2012 when I started this whole project so I finally plucked up the courage to give it a go.

Chicken Tikka Masala

Image
Chicken Tikka Masala with poppadoms and pickles

This recipe is from the Hairy Bikers Curry book – which is an amazing curry book by the way – its easy to make and so flavoursome. You can find a recipe online here. There are a lot of spices in this recipe and I did have to buy a couple of additions but to be fair, once you have them in the cupboard it means you can make more curries – bonus!

To start you need to toast your spices in a dry pan until they start to release their flavours – then tip into a pestle and mortar along with the ready ground spices. Grind to a fine powder – to be honest you could use a spice grinder, it would be quicker and more efficient but I have had my pestle and mortar for about 3 years and never used it so I decided to go for it!

Image
The first time I ever used my pestle and mortar!

Once the spices are well ground and mixed add around half of the mix to the yoghurt along with the ginger and garlic. Add the chicken into the yoghurt mixture and leave to marinate for at least 4 hours.

Image
Marinate the chicken in the yoghurt and spices

When the chicken is marinated you can begin to make the curry sauce. Fry the onions, garlic and ginger (in the recipe it recommends using fresh ginger but I always use lazy ginger and it works just as well without contaminating your cheese grater with ginger) in ghee (or butter and olive oil). Cover and cook for 10 minutes until softened, stir in the tomato puree and water and cream and cook for 30 seconds, then remove from the heat and blitz in the blender.

To put the dish together put the chicken pieces on skewers and cook on a griddle or under the grill until cooked through, heat the sauce and serve the chicken and sauce with rice.

Image

Mr Gem and I also had poppadoms and pickles with ours like a proper Indian feast and it was delicious. I was a bit light-handed with the spices so I would dial them up a bit in future to give a stronger flavour but otherwise my first ever ‘from scratch’ curry was a resounding success!!

 

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

Leave a Reply

