Posted in cooking

Week 22 – Chicken and apricot curry

So I almost caught up…so close. Then I stopped and here we are at week 22 and I still have at least 3 more weeks to go. I really am my own worst enemy because I genuinely can’t event remember what I did between week 22 and now – which is actually only 2 weeks. Phew. Anyway I digress. The week 22 recipe comes courtesy of Mr Nigel Slater.

Chicken and Apricot Curry

Chicken and Apricot Curry
Chicken and Apricot Curry

This was a surprising treat actually. It was simple and used mostly store cupboard bits – there is a copy of the recipe here

I used lemongrass paste and ginger paste instead of fresh (I always do – I hate the idea of ginger contaminating my cheese grater…) and you simply whack this in a blender with chillis and lime zest and then whiz to a rough paste, add the fish sauce, chopped tomatoes and soy sauce and whiz up some more till it becomes a smooth sauce.

Whizz up the lime, chilli, ginger and lemongrass
Whizz up the lime, chilli, ginger and lemongrass
Add the chopped tomatoes and blend to a smooth sauce
Add the chopped tomatoes and blend to a smooth sauce

From here on in the rest is easy – brown the chicken in the pan on all sides then remove from the pan. Fry the sauce in the pan, add the coconut milk  and then add the chicken back in until its cooked through then add the apricots for the last 5 minutes. Serve with some sticky white rice.

Brown the chicken pieces
Brown the chicken pieces
Serve with sticky white rice
Serve with sticky white rice

The dish was light, fragrant and so easy to make. Mr Gem enjoyed it and I did too although some of the flavours were a bit light – I would make it a bit stronger next time but otherwise a top dish!

 

 

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

Leave a Reply

