Posted in cooking

Week 20 – Chicken, Leek and Parsley Pie

This blog is about the mishaps as well as the triumphs that happen in my kitchen. To be honest I thought there would be a lot more disasters than there have been, I’m sure it’s much more entertaining when it goes wrong. It’s certainly entertaining to watch Mr Gem swallow down my disasters and try to think of something to say about it that won’t hurt my feelings. This is exactly what happened in week 20.

Chicken, Leek and Parsley Pie

Chicken Leek and Parsley Pie
Chicken Leek and Parsley Pie

 

We had a bit of a frugal week at Kitchen Gems HQ and I had all the ingredients for this recipe except for the parsley. This is a recipe from my Nigel Slater Kitchen Diaries recipe book (another favourite) and it is so simple. There is a copy of the recipe here. It’s a really hearty dish perfect for a lazy Sunday afternoon.

I forgot to buy the puff pastry from the supermarket so had to make my own (yes – make my own) shortcrust pastry – and it was pretty good even if I do say so myself.

Proof that I made my pastry from scratch!
Proof that I made my pastry from scratch!

However…after cooking the chicken and poaching the leeks I was ready to put the dish together I realised that in our quick dash around the supermarket we had bought a huge bunch of coriander – not the parsley needed by the recipe. I don’t like coriander.

However, we had nothing else meal was all but ready to go in the oven so I thought – what’s the worst that could happen? I mixed the leek, chicken and coriander mixture into the sauce, popped it into an oven dish and applied homemade pastry top and shoved it in the oven.

30 minutes later it was ready.

Chicken Leek and Parsley Pie - served with sweet potato mash
Chicken Leek and Parsley Pie – served with sweet potato mash

The result was surprisingly ok. The coriander wasn’t overpowering and although the flavours didn’t quite sit together as they would if I’d used the parsley but it wasn’t the biggest disaster it could have been. The moral of the story is – even when you mess up it will probably still taste ok!

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

Leave a Reply

