Posted in cooking

Lovely Lamb Souvlaki

I am still on the healthy eating track at the minute and exciting recipes are few and far between, so please excuse the lack of content – I’m sure no one really wants to read about grilled salmon and salad though do they?!

I must admit it’s very hard to stay healthy on a weekend when there is an abundance of opportunities to eat lovely food. For example just yesterday Mr Gem and I went wedding cake tasting! How is a girl supposed to count the calories when she is offered free cake? It was very good though, excited to taste the real thing in 11 weeks (eek!)

Anyway I have been trying where possible to avoid naughty treats by filling up on healthy but tasty meals, so this weeks recipe is my take on Lamb Souvlaki, Greek kebabs. I love Greek food, so much flavour and it just transports me to summer holidays! I hope you enjoy it.

IMG_7461

To make this recipe you will need:
Diced lamb (stewing or leg steak), lemon juice, garlic, dried mint and oregano – simple!

I chopped the lamb steaks into 2cm strips and added into a bowl with the lemon juice, garlic and herbs, gave it a good mix to ensure the lamb was coated and then left it to marinate for an hour or so.

IMG_7459-0

In the meantime I made up a greek salad using cherry tomatoes, lettuce, red onion, cucumber and feta cheese (reduced fat for me!) I made a dressing from olive oil and white wine vinegar and tossed though the salad and stuck it to one side. I always make salad slightly ahead of time, I hate fridge cold lettuce and tomato, I like it to come up to room temperature a bit.

Once the lamb was marinated I threaded it on skewers with some onions and mushrooms and popped under the grill for about 15 mins, turning and basting with the marinade every few minutes when I remembered.

IMG_7460-0

We had these kebabs with flatbreads, hummus and tazatziki with the salad and they were absolutely delicious!! The meat was tender from the marinade and the lemon and herbs came through nicely. The salad and dips just finished it off nicely.

IMG_7463-1

Calorie wise all in was around 600, but you could remove the flatbread to make it less if you wish, but sometimes, you need a bit of bread!

Happy cooking!!

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

Leave a Reply

