Posted in cooking, Food, mexican food

Fish Tacos, Guacamole and Mango Salsa

I had my hen weekend in Edinburgh back in March – it was absolutely amazing, 12 of my favourite ladies on the planet stayed in an apartment, played highland games and had prosecco served to us by a very attractive butler in the buff – it was basically the weekend dreams were made of! On the Saturday night we went out for a meal to line our stomachs before the big night out and we ate at a fabulous Mexican restaurant on The Royal Mile called Pancho Villas – honestly it was fantastic, great atmosphere, jugs of margarita, plates and plates of tapas and excellent value – I can’t recommend it enough.

However, this isn’t a restaurant review blog – for starters I’d have to remember exactly what I had eaten and quite frankly after a couple of those margaritas there is no chance of that happening. What I do remember was the fish tacos. I’d never eaten fish tacos before that meal but I certainly wanted to try them again – so I made my own!

I had no idea where to start on this recipe – none of my recipe books had any suggestions and so I spent a bit of time searching the internet and came across this recipe on another blog – Host the Toast  – I used this as a starting point and went from there.

Fish Tacos, Guacamole and Mango Salsa 

IMG_9103

For the fish you will need:

So using Host the Toasts (HtH) recipe as a guide I used cod fillets chopped into cm square chunks, a teaspoon each of paprika, cumin, oregano, brown sugar and chilli powder. I’m not proud of this next bit –  HtH used onion powder and garlic powder and I couldn’t find either in my local shop, so I read the back of the taco seasoning that came with the shells I bought and it had both of those ingredients in it so I added two tiny teaspoons of the premixed seasoning as well.

For the guacamole  you will need:

A ripe avocado (I had my chef moment here when my avocado was perfectly ripe and I managed to half it perfectly – normally I make a proper mess scraping around the stone), spring onion, red chilli, lime juice

For the mango salsa you will need: 

Ripe mango, more red chilli, a bit more spring onion and more lime juice 

Quick and easy to make:

This one took quite a bit of prep but the actual making of the dinner was simple. First of all cut the fish into smallish pieces – remove the skin. Mix all the spices in a bowl with a pinch of salt and the sugar and then add the fish – toss it in the spice mix until its thoroughly coated then set aside until you are ready to cook.

IMG_9091

For the guacamole halve your avocado – here is a really professional photo of how it’s done…!

IMG_9095Remove the stone and squeeze the flesh from the skin into a bowl, add the spring onions, chilli and lime juice and mix, mashing the avocado down as you do. Its so satisfying!

IMG_9096

Then prepare the mango salsa. I used about half the mango, chopped into small cubes, add to a bowl with the rest of the chilli, spring onion and another squeeze of lime juice. Set aside to let the flavours mix together.

IMG_9094

When you a ready to cook – heat some oil in a pan and add the fish – I actually added some baby corn to mine but its personal taste and its definitely not needed. Cook for about 5-10 mins until the fish is cooked through.

Then build your tacos!I used pre-prepared shells – because who has time to do otherwise after a long day at work and a hungry husband. I put the fish on the bottom, followed by the mango and topped with guacamole. I didn’t even add any cheese – just kept it really simple and fresh with the mango and the guacamole.

IMG_9101

The only thing I would change is next time I’d make my own spice mix from scratch! Mr Gem said the only thing he would change is he would have had more of them! Definitely a keeper!

Author:

Mum, wife, marketing bod. Wine, fizz, gin, chocolate and book lover. Secret eater and snack hider. Home cook and amateur blogger. Embracing the new challenge of cooking new and tasty dishes whilst getting a boisterous baby boy bathed and bedded and keeping a hangry tired husband distracted til tea time!

Leave a Reply

