Why don’t people cook anymore?

I read an article today that made me sad – apparently only 1 in 6 mums cook from scratch on a daily basis and instead resort to processed convenience food to feel their family. This is apparently due to a lack of confidence and time. 1 in 6.

I’ve never been a fan of processed food – I mean I enjoy the occasional pizza and even a Macdonalds on occasion but as a general rule most of what comes out of my kitchen started as separate ingredients which I put together.

I enjoy cooking and that’s why I started this blog – I don’t cook anything complicated or fancy and it’ll never earn me any money or Michelin stars but hopefully it will help me and my family stay healthy and happy and in the future when I have kids I’ll teach them how to cook so that hopefully they’ll grow into healthy, happy adults.

The article is on The Daily Telegraph

Categories cookingTags ,

4 thoughts on “Why don’t people cook anymore?

  1. – ‘Frantic parents should use shortcuts like pre-chopped vegetables, boil-in-the-bag rice and pre-cooked noodles’.
    – That’s great advice!
    – How very sad are those stats!

    Like

    1. I know, its not hard or time consuming to make a healthy meal. Its just the thought of whats in processed food that puts me off!

      Like

  2. Very sad stats. I believe that planning ahead – to have ingredients in your house – and confidence come into play as well. I hope my recipes can teach and instill confidence to the reader.

    Like

    1. It is so sad. I think its ok to have processed food once every now and again as a treat but everyday surely can’t be healthy!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mom Wife Wine

A Lifestyle Blog

Georgia fitness

Journey to become a strongwoman

Italian home cooking

My Italian food

SHINE OF A LUCID BEING

Astral Lucid Music - Philosophy On Life, The Universe And Everything...

Single Serve

Delicious meals for one in under 20 minutes.

Wine O Clock

Welcome to the drunk mum club!

Foodzesty

A Food Blog with easy, simple, recipes for everyone to enjoy

Home Cooking with Omneya

Easy recipes from different cuisines

Love and Fishes

A blog about recipes, made with love, and lots of fishes...

So, I'm a Mom Now...

Taking Mom Life One Day At A Time

My Second Hand Year

Preloved is reloved

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close